Captain Steve Hurkman, 6th Assembly District, First Responder of the Year

Representative Schmidt presented Captain Steve Hurkman with the 2023 “First Responder of the Year” award during the fall.

“I was proud to honor Captain Steve Hurkman as the 6th Assembly District First Responder of the Year,” said Rep. Schmidt. “Captain Steve Hurkman has served humbly as a first responder for the City of Seymour Fire Department and Rescue Squad for over 50 years. First responders are heroes among us and selflessly put others first. Captain Hurkman is a shining example of this heroism.”

Scroll to Top